What year did Australia last win the Bledisloe Cup?

The last time they retained the Bledisloe Cup in Australia was in 2009 courtesy of a narrow 19-18 victory in Sydney. All Blacks head coach Ian Foster said his team are hugely excited by the prospect of winning the trophy on Australian soil.

How long has it been since Wallabies won Bledisloe?

— The Wallabies have not won the Bledisloe Cup since 2002 (a span of 17 years).

When did Wallabies win Bledisloe Cup?

Until 1998, the cup was contested in a three-match series consisting of the two Tri Nations matches between the two sides and a third match. New Zealand won the series in 1996 and 1997, and Australia won it in 1998.

When was the last time the Wallabies won at Eden Park?

While Australia have had special difficulty getting over the line at Eden Park, their last win being the Bledisloe Cup-winning 22-9 victory in 1986 their connection hasn’t been all bad.

When was the last time Australia beat New Zealand?


IT IS INTERESTING:  Can a plane fly direct to Australia?
Record Australia New Zealand
Home 47 (10 August 2019) 51 (23 August 2014)
Away 33 (19 October 2013) 54 (19 August 2017)
Largest winning margin
Home 21 (10 August 2019) 37 (6 July 1996)

Why are New Zealand called the All Black?

There are two versions of how the name originated. The first is that after one of the team’s big victories a certain newspaper had intended to have as its headline ‘ALL BACKS’, intimating that the forwards were playing like backs; but a typographical error actually gave the headline as ‘ALL BLACKS’.

Who won between Australia and New Zealand?

Australia defeats New Zealand 24-22 in Bledisloe Cup Test as Wallabies post opening Tri Nations win.

Can Australia win the Bledisloe Cup?

The Wallabies won Bledisloe 4 with a thrilling 24-22 victory over the All Blacks in Brisbane.

Bledisloe 4.

Wallabies All Blacks
24 Score 22
1 Marika Koroibete (40′) Yellow cards 1 Scott Barrett (68′)

Why is it called the Bledisloe Cup?

Introduced in 1931, the Bledisloe Cup is named after New Zealand’s governor-general, Lord Bledisloe, who donated the huge silver trophy. It is contested by New Zealand and Australia and is the pinnacle of trans-Tasman sport.

How many Bledisloe Cup games are there in 2020?

The 2020 Bledisloe Cup is set to again feature three games, two in Australia and one in New Zealand, from August 8 – October 17, 2020.

Who wins the Bledisloe Cup 2020?

The 2020 Bledisloe Cup series was won by New Zealand 2-1. The Wallabies won Game 4 in Brisbane 24-22. The All Blacks retained the trophy for an 18th consecutive year after winning Game 3 at ANZ Stadium 43-5 and Game 2 at Eden Park 27-7.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: What does the Australian government spend their money on?

Who won the first Test between Australia and New Zealand?

Australia beat New Zealand Australia won by 296 runs – Australia vs New Zealand, ICC World Test Championship, 1st Test Match Summary, Report | ESPNcricinfo.com.

Who won the rugby between Australia and Argentina?

Australia 16-16 Argentina.

Going to Sydney