Question: How many Australian embassies are there?

Some countries have chosen not to establish an embassy in Canberra but instead operate a consulate in a major city, such as Melbourne (Oman) and Brisbane (Nauru). Canberra currently hosts 109 embassies/high commissions.

How many embassies does Australia have?

There are about 79 Foreign Embassies and 259 Consulates placed in the territory of Australia. Australia itself in total counts near 54 Embassies and 105 Consulates spread all over the world.

What countries have an Australian embassy?


  • * Iceland (Canadian Embassy – Reykjavik) – see Denmark.
  • India (Australian Consulate-General – Chennai)
  • India (Australian Consulate-General – Kolkata)
  • India (Australian High Commission – New Delhi)
  • India (Australian Consulate-General – Mumbai)
  • Indonesia (Australian Embassy – Jakarta)

Which country has the most embassies in the world?

Top countries with most diplomatic missions abroad

Total Embassy or High Commissions
China 276 169
United States 273 168
France 267 161
Japan 247 151

Which is the largest embassy in the world?

The Embassy of the United States of America in Baghdad is the diplomatic mission of the United States of America in the Republic of Iraq. Ambassador Matthew Tueller is currently the Chief of Mission. At 104 acres (42 ha), it is the largest embassy in the world, and is nearly as large as Vatican City.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How many Test series South Africa won in Australia?

What is the difference between an embassy and a consulate?

From a traveller’s perspective, there isn’t much difference between an embassy, a consulate and a high commission. An embassy is the base for a country’s diplomatic mission abroad – meaning all of the political, cultural and social relationships between the states. … A consulate is where consular services are performed.

What is an Australian consular officer?

Australian consular officer means a person appointed to hold. or act in any of the following offices (being an office of the. Commonwealth) in a country or place outside Australia—

Does Australia have an embassy in China?

Australian Consulate-General in Shanghai, China (People’s Republic of) | DFAT.

What is the difference between an embassy a high commission or consulate?

A high commission is an embassy of a Commonwealth country located in another Commonwealth country. … A consulate general is a diplomatic mission located in a major city, usually other than the capital city, which provides a full range of consular services.

What is an Australian diplomat?

Diplomatic service officers work for the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade (DFAT), either in Australia or abroad. They promote and protect Australia’s interests and citizens overseas, and provide advice and support to ministers developing foreign policy.

Do embassies pay rent?

Most of the other embassies have sprung up since the Second World War. … “Generally speaking we find that embassies abide by the terms of their leases,” he says, pointing out that most are on ground rents. “They would have paid a premium at the time and then be on a peppercorn or very low rent basis.”

IT IS INTERESTING:  How many different religions are in Australia?

Do embassies pay taxes?

As a general rule, members of the diplomatic staff, administrative staff, technical staff and service staff of most foreign missions to the U.S. are exempt from federal and state taxes.

Which countries have embassies in the US?

Embassies in Washington, D.C.

  • Afghanistan.
  • Albania.
  • Algeria.
  • Angola.
  • Antigua and Barbuda.
  • Argentina.
  • Armenia*
  • Australia*

What can your embassy do for you?

These services include renewing passports; replacing lost or stolen passports; providing aid in obtaining medical and legal assistance; notarizing documents;assisting with tax returns and absentee voting; making arrangements in the event of death; registering births to nationals abroad; certifying– but not performing …

Do all countries have an embassy?

The U.S. has embassies in (or, in the case of Vatican City, near) all countries it recognizes apart from Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco and San Marino.

How many ambassadors does America have?

In addition to the 189 ambassadors, the United States has many special envoys for particular regions or issues, such as an envoy for the Western Balkans, for Serbia-Kosovo talks, and for Afghan peace talks.

Going to Sydney