Question: Who won the Australian Open in 2012 and 2013?

Who won the Australian Open in 2012?

Djokovic Beats Nadal In Epic 2012 Australian Open Final. World No. 1 Novak Djokovic captured his fifth Grand Slam championship title as he defeated No. 2-ranked Rafael Nadal 5-7, 6-4, 6-2, 6-7(5), 7-5 in an epic final contest at the Australian Open on Sunday night in Melbourne.

Who won the Australian Open in 2013?

Two-time defending champion Novak Djokovic successfully defended his title by defeating Andy Murray in the final 6–7, 7–6, 6–3, 6–2 to win the Men’s Singles tennis title at the 2013 Australian Open.

Who won the women’s final in tennis Australian Open in 2013?

Victoria Azarenka was the defending champion, and successfully defended her title, defeating Li Na in the final 4–6, 6–4, 6–3 to win the Women’s Singles tennis title at the 2013 Australian Open. Azarenka, Maria Sharapova and Serena Williams were in contention for the WTA No. 1 ranking at the start of the tournament.

Who won the Grand Slam in 2012?

The Entire Year

The second Grand Slam event of the year was won by Nadal who defeated Djokovic 6-4, 6-3, 2-6, 7-5 to win a record seventh French Open title. At Wimbledon, Roger Federer would equal this record, held by Nadal and Pete Sampras, by winning the final 4-6, 7-5, 6-3, 6-4 against Andy Murray.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What does Australia have to import?

What’s the longest tennis match in history?

In the 2010 Wimbledon Grand Slam tournament, the match between Nicolas Mahut and John Isner broke the record for the longest tennis match of all time – the game was played over three days and lasted of total of 11 hours and 5 minutes.

Who won the Australian Open in 2011?

Novak Djokovic won the Australian Open for the second time. At the start of the 2011 Australian Open, World Number one Rafael Nadal was on the edge of history, as he had an opportunity to become the first man since Rod Laver in 1969 to hold all four Grand Slams at the same time, after winning the previous three.

Who won Australian Open 2015?

Novak Djokovic defeated Andy Murray 7–6, 6–7, 6–3, 6–0 in the final to win the Men’s Singles tennis title at the 2015 Australian Open.

Who won Aus Open 2014?

Switzerland’s Stanislas Wawrinka won his first Grand Slam title with victory over an injury-hit Rafael Nadal in the Australian Open final. Wawrinka withstood a fightback from the world number one, who was struggling with a back problem, to come through 6-3 6-2 3-6 6-3.

Has anyone won all 4 Grand Slams a year?

In terms of the current four majors, the first to win all four in a single year was Don Budge, who completed the feat in 1938. To date, 17 players have completed a Grand Slam, though only six in the most prestigious singles titles.

Who has won all 4 Grand Slams?

So who has won all 4 Grand Slams in the same year? So far, there have been Grand Slams in all major tennis disciplines – singles, doubles, and mixed doubles.

They are:

  • Don Budge, United States, 1938.
  • Maureen Connolly, United States, 1953.
  • Rod Laver, Australia, 1962 and 1969. …
  • Margaret Smith Court, Australia, 1970.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Which water body separates Australia from NZ?

Who won Grand Slam 2020?

Men’s Grand Slam Title Winners
2020 French Open Rafael Nadal
2020 U.S. Open Dominic Thiem
2020 Australian Open Novak Djokovic
Going to Sydney