Who was the winner of 2016 Australian Open title?

The tournament consisted of events for professional players in singles, doubles and mixed doubles play. Junior and wheelchair players competed in singles and doubles tournaments. Novak Djokovic successfully defended the men’s singles title and thus won a record-equaling sixth Australian Open title.

Who has won the 2016 Australian Open men’s singles title?

1 Novak Djokovic of Serbia beat No. 2 Andy Murray of Great Britain in straight sets in the Australian Open final: 6-1, 7-5, 7-6.

Who won the Australian Open 2016?

Novak Djokovic is Australian Open champion for the sixth time, equalling Roy Emerson’s record, but it is unlikely he will be spending much time analysing a final in which he eked out a sub-par 6-1, 7-5, 7-6 (7-3) win over Andy Murray here on Sunday night.

Who won the 2017 Australian Open men’s title?

Roger Federer won his fifth Australian Open title, and 18th Major title overall, defeating Rafael Nadal in the final 6–4, 3–6, 6–1, 3–6, 6–3 to win the Men’s Singles tennis title at the 2017 Australian Open.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: How many sharks are in Australia?

Who won the women’s title at the Australian Open?

Naomi Osaka is the 2021 Australian Open champion after beating Jennifer Brady in straight sets, 6-4, 6-3, in 77 minutes in the women’s final in Melbourne.

Who has won the most Australian Opens?

Djokovic is the first man in history to win three Australian Open titles after turning 30. The 33-year-old claimed his first trophy at Melbourne Park in 2008 when he was 20. Djokovic is now closer than ever to Federer and Nadal in the Grand Slam titles race after earning his 18th major title.

Who won Australian Open most times?

List of Australian Open men’s singles champions

Most titles
Amateur era 6: Roy Emerson
Open era 9: Novak Djokovic
Most consecutive titles
Amateur era 5: Roy Emerson

Who won Australian Open 2015?

Novak Djokovic defeated Andy Murray 7–6, 6–7, 6–3, 6–0 in the final to win the Men’s Singles tennis title at the 2015 Australian Open.

Who won the Australian Open 2020?

2020 Australian Open – Men’s Singles

Men’s Singles
2020 Australian Open
Champion Novak Djokovic
Runner-up Dominic Thiem
Final score 6–4, 4–6, 2–6, 6–3, 6–4

Who has been number 1 in tennis the longest?

Djokovic Becomes Second Player To Reach 300 Weeks At No. 1

No. 1 Player Total Weeks Longest Streak
1) Roger Federer 310 237 weeks
2) Novak Djokovic 300 122 weeks
3) Pete Sampras 286 102 weeks
4) Ivan Lendl 270 157 weeks

Is Federer out of the Australian Open?

Roger Federer has withdrawn from the 2021 Australian Open, the tournament confirmed in a press release Monday. The Swiss last competed at this year’s Australian Open. … Federer has since had two right knee surgeries. The six-time champion has played the Australian Open main draw every year since his debut in 2000.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Who is televising the cricket in Australia?

Who won semi finals Australian Open?

Djokovic Repeats Zverev Win, Reaches Ninth Australian Open Semi-final. Novak Djokovic survived another major test at the Australian Open on Tuesday, as he overcame Alexander Zverev 6-7(6), 6-2, 6-4, 7-6(8) in three hours and 30 minutes to reach his ninth semi-final at Melbourne Park.

Which woman has won the most Australian Opens?

In the Australian Championships, Margaret Court (1960–1966) holds the records for most titles with seven wins, and most consecutive titles with seven from (1960–1966). In the Australian Open, Serena Williams (2003, 2005, 2007, 2009–2010, 2015, 2017) has the most victories, with seven.

How many Australian Opens has Serena Williams won?

Williams has won a record of 13 Grand Slam singles titles on hard court. Williams holds the Open Era record for most titles won at the Australian Open (7) and shares the Open Era record for most titles won at the US Open with Chris Evert (6).

How much did Naomi Osaka win for winning the Australian Open?

Big Number: $2.1 million: That’s the prize money Osaka was awarded for winning the Australian Open on Saturday.

Going to Sydney