Who won the 2009 Australian Open men’s final?

First seeded Rafael Nadal defeated Roger Federer in five sets to win the men’s singles title.

Who won the 2009 Men’s Australian Open singles?

Rafael Nadal defeated Roger Federer in the final, 7–5, 3–6, 7–6, 3–6, 6–2, to win the Men’s Singles tennis title at the 2009 Australian Open.

Who won AO 2009?

Nadal defeated Federer in five sets in four hours and twenty-three minutes, with the match finishing after midnight, becoming the first Spaniard, male or female, to win the Australian Open.

Who won the Australian Open men’s final?

Novak Djokovic Wins Ninth Australian Open Title. The victory for the top-ranked Djokovic, in three sets over the fourth-ranked Daniil Medvedev of Russia, gave him his 18th career Grand Slam title over all.

Has Djokovic ever lost an Australian Open final?

During the 53 times that this tournament has been held in the open era, 54 men have reached the Australian Open men’s singles final.


IT IS INTERESTING:  Where are shark nets located in Australia?
Player Novak Djokovic
Nationality Serbia
Finals 9
Win-Loss 9–0
Year(s) 2008*, 2011*, 2012*, 2013*, 2015*, 2016*, 2019*, 2020*, 2021*

Who won Australian Open 2010?

Roger Federer defeated Andy Murray in the final to win the Men’s Singles tennis title at the 2010 Australian Open. Rafael Nadal was the defending champion, but retired due to a right knee injury in the quarter-finals against Andy Murray.

Who won the 2011 Australian Open?

Novak Djokovic won the Australian Open for the second time. At the start of the 2011 Australian Open, World Number one Rafael Nadal was on the edge of history, as he had an opportunity to become the first man since Rod Laver in 1969 to hold all four Grand Slams at the same time, after winning the previous three.

Who Won 2008 Australian Open?

Novak Djokovic defeated unseeded Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in the final 4–6, 6–4, 6–3, 7–6 to win the Men’s Singles tennis title at the 2008 Australian Open.

Has Nadal ever won the Australian Open?

Nadal is the first Spaniard to win the Australian Open and the first male player in the Open Era to simultaneously hold Grand Slams on clay, grass and hard courts which he has achieved three times (French Open 2008-Wimbledon 2008-Australian Open 2009, French Open 2010-Wimbledon 2010-US Open 2010, and Wimbledon 2010-US …

Who has won the most Australian Opens?

Currently, Novak Djokovic is the most successful Australian Open player in history with nine titles (2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2019, 2020 and 2021) followed by Roger Federer with six (2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2017 and 2018).

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: Is Australia in an El Nino?

How many Australian Opens has Roger Federer won?

Roger Federer won 6 singles titles.

Who owns the Australian Open?

From 1973 to 2018, the Seven Network served as the host broadcaster of the Australian Open. In March 2018, it was announced that the Nine Network had acquired the rights to the tournament beginning in 2020, for a period of five years. The network later bought the rights for the 2019 tournament as well.

Who is the best tennis player of all time?

1. Roger Federer. The greatest male tennis player of all time is Roger Federer. He holds the joint-record for the most grand slams in history and has consistently dominated the court since he turned pro in 1998.

Who has won all 4 Grand Slams?

It is Germany’s Steffi Graf. Graf achieved the Golden Slam by winning the 1988 Olympic gold medal, the 1988 Australian Open, the 1988 French Open, the 1988 Wimbledon Championships, and the 1988 US Open. As for the Career Golden Slam, it has been won 19 times (including Steffi Graf’s Golden Slam).

How many Grand Slam finals has Novak Djokovic lost?

Novak Djokovic career statistics

Career finals
Discipline Type Lost
Singles Grand Slam tournaments 10
Olympic Games
Year-End Championships 2
Going to Sydney